I'm back! - Reisverslag uit Dharamsala, India van aylene Kleijn - WaarBenJij.nu I'm back! - Reisverslag uit Dharamsala, India van aylene Kleijn - WaarBenJij.nu

I'm back!

Door: aylene

Blijf op de hoogte en volg aylene

09 Augustus 2014 | India, Dharamsala

Dear friends and family,
As most of you already know, I'm back in India. Again. I just don't seem to get enough of this country!
(Sorry if I make a lot of typos.. I unfortunatelly left my laptop charger at home so I'm doing this thing on my phone)

My adventure already started on the 5th. Ofcourse, I didn't leave quit as early as I should have.. And then there were a lot of problems with the trains! So, lots of stress! But I made it just in time! :)
The flight went smoothly to Abu Dhabi. There I had to switch planes. And even though it was 40 degrees celsius outside, the airport was freesing cold because of the AC. And yes, I also left my vest at home. (Oh man, I came so prpared!!) luckily for me there was a man who said he felt so fortunate to meet me that he gave me his blanket. I'm aware that actually is quite creepy. But I was freezing cold, so don't juge me please!

I arrived ib Delhi in the afternoon on the 6th. Jep, Delhi is still quite what I remembered. Hot, smelly, crowded.. And somehow I like it!
The next morning I already went shopping! (Oh yeah, that's why I love Delhi!) Everything is so cheap here, so I bought most of my cloths here instead of bringing them from home.
At 4pm I took the bus to Dharamsala. Well, they told me the bus would leave at 4 pm and arrive at 9 am in Dharamsala. Now this is India, so the bus left at 5pm, and surprisingly I arrived in Mcleod Ganj (Dharamsala) at 6 in the morning! Since no-one from Lha knew I would arrive this early, I had to wait till 8 untill someone came to the office. And that is how you learn patience :)
The man from the office Mr. Tsering was so kind as to then take me for breakfast.

Lha is the Tibetan organisation here in Mcleod Ganj for whom I will volunteer the next 3 weeks. The are helping the Tibetan refugees to build a life here, and provide them with free language classes and so on. I will be working at a nursery with children from 8 months to 3 years. This service is freely provided for the Tibetans who don't have much money, and who don't have family around to take care of their children. This way, bith parents can work to earn enough money. Life here is quite expensive for them, and the jobs are poorly paid. The everage income is about 6000 IRS (€75) per month. While the rent alreasy is 5000 IRS. Therefor both parents need to work!
Yet, the lifes of the Tibetans who remain in Tibet is much worse! Some stories I hear or read about are horrifing.
And still, the people don't seem to be angry. The still have hope and believe in the non violent approach. The only thing they want is to create awareness of what is happening in their country and to their people!

My hostfamily is very rich for the standards here and so I have a nice room and even a hot shower! They are very kind, and the wife is a great cook! The husband is a yogi teacher and so most conversations are really interesting.

Since I came during monsoon it rains here quite a lot. And it is also not as warm as I thought it would be! (Like I said, very prepared! Hahaha)

It just stoped raining so I am going to go to town!
OMG i just had the scare of my life!!! A male monkey walked into my room and stole some biscuits! It may sound funny but they can be really agressive and sometime attack people! Note to self, don't leave your room open!!

Love, aylene

  • 09 Augustus 2014 - 11:39

    Fred Wijnands:

    Hey Aylene. Wat verrassend te lezen dat je in India zit. Wat cool voor je. Maar zeker ook cool voor de kids waar je gaat helpen. Ik heb het grote genoegen gehad met je samen te werken in Nepal en weet dus hoe blij die kinderen met je zullen zijn. Ik hoop binnenkort met je te kunnen bijkletsen. Heel veel plezier. Xxx

  • 09 Augustus 2014 - 12:15

    Gemma Hermans:

    Leuk Aylene om je zo te volgen.Martin heeft het weer voor de komende dagen gekeken,vandaag de warmste dag dus geniet ervan en komende tijd veel regen,helaas.Augustus is de natste maand,bof jij even!!!!!!!!!!!!
    We blijven je volgen,liefs Gemmie

  • 09 Augustus 2014 - 12:42

    Aylene De Kleijn:

    Hee Fred,
    Dankjewel! Ja ik had het ook niet lang van te voren gepland!
    Ja doen we zeker als ik weer terug ben! Xx

  • 09 Augustus 2014 - 12:43

    Aylene De Kleijn:

    Hoi Gemmie,
    Ja ik had het ook gezien van het weer. Maarja! Ik heb een regenjas eneen paraplu dus ik zal het wel overleven allemaal :)
    Liefs!

  • 09 Augustus 2014 - 13:05

    Sara Lau-Jensen :

    Hi aylene.
    Great that you are back in India! Hope you will have a good stay:)
    I miss India, all the noise, all the colours, all the dust, all the pigs running around the slum school:) and caitlin and you

  • 09 Augustus 2014 - 17:48

    Marinus Klijn:

    Heel veel succes in India, Ber en Rinus

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: India, Dharamsala

india 2014

Volunteering and backpackin in North India

Recente Reisverslagen:

21 Augustus 2014

enjoying a lot

09 Augustus 2014

I'm back!
aylene

My trip to India in the summer of 2014

Actief sinds 09 Aug. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 289
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4425

Voorgaande reizen:

05 Augustus 2014 - 11 September 2014

india 2014

Landen bezocht: